BRUCE MINES MUSEUM
Located in beautiful and historic Bruce Mines, the Bruce
Mines Museum is a must see for anyone travelling in the
The building itself has a fascinating history. Built in
a Presbyterian Church, the "Church on the Rock"
for services until 1917 when the congregation
church and united with the Methodist
church could accommodate both
In the same year, a fire swept through the
town and the local postmaster, whose building
had been destroyed, moved the post office into
the vacant church building. The building was
used as a scout and church hall for many years
until 1945 when another fire destroyed the Bruce
Mines Public School.
The building housed grades
9 - 12 for two years
until grades 11 and 12 were moved
to the old jail
building and finally in December of 1948 the
moved into a new building. The building stood empty
until the Town of Bruce Mines purchased it in 1950 when it
was used as a public library and as a storage house for local
The museum officially opened in 1961 and in
1973 the library moved to the Bruce Mines Central School.
Come and visit us!
The Bruce Mines Museum is located on Highway 17, only 40 minutes from Sault Ste. Marie.
|Contact us at:
Bruce Mines Museum
c/o Bruce Mines Historical Society
Bruce Mines, ON
Canada P0R 1C0
Our Star Attractions!
Click here to return to Tourism page.