ABOUT THE TOWN

Bruce Mines is a small but vibrant community on the shores
of the North Channel of Lake Huron. Nestled on a beautiful
bay, the town is located on Trans Canada Highway 17
about 65 km East of Sault Ste Marie. The town offers
all of the amenities needed  for families of all ages to
live here and a number of activites and entertainment
events for visitors and residents alike.

Named after James Bruce, who was appointed as Governor
General of Canada in 1846, the town of Bruce Mines was first
established that same year as a copper mining area by John Keating.
The Mines employed skilled Cornish miners who had recently emigrated from England. The restored Simpson Mine Shaft demonstrates copper mining of the 1800's and is open for guided tours during the summer months.

Mayor:   Lory Patteri.
Council Members:   Howie Bowes, Jody Orto, Richard O'Hara, Cindy Chisolm
Phone:   (705) 785-3493
Fax:   (705) 785-3170
Email:   brucemines@bellnet.ca

~ 9126 Hwy. 17 East, PO Box 220, Bruce Mines ON   P0R 1C0 ~

Click here to return to Town Information page.


Community Services

Town Information

Gallery

Links

Contact Us

Events Calendar

_____________________________________________________________________________________
"© 2011 The Corporation of the Town of Bruce Mines.
All rights reserved."